Is the grass really greener on the other side?

Saturday we had a wonderful visit from a good friend’s mom.  She just stopped by to say “hi” and see how we were doing.  She brought cupcakes.  What a wonderful surprise.  As we were talking, somehow we managed to get on the topic of moving and how the grass isn’t always greener on the other side.

So, today I was thinking of all the choices that have been made in the last (almost) 5 years…was it the right thing to do for my family.  I truly believe it was.  I had to leave a great job working 40 hrs a week, weekends off, paid vacations, holidays, sick time, insurance.  Partially left because i really wanted to stay home and become a full-time mom but also because my mother was battling stage 2 breast cancer and could not continue taking care of my children while I worked.  We moved to New York back to my home town for 3 months.  What works for others did not work for us there so we moved back.  I attempted to return to the job I left to much avail no they were not re-hiring me even though I left on good terms with an impeccable working file for almost 11 1/2 years.  Well I now found out that they are taking away benefits again from their employees..when I was there and made my 10 years they changed their vacation policy and I lost out on a week of vacation.bonus It seems that they are now taking away the personal time and other benefits I had when I was there.

I now know my full-time job is being a mother to my children through all their ups and downs; finance officer to take care of the bills, couponista- to save money and make sure we can afford the things we need, advocate to make sure my children’s needs are met at school and everywhere else; personal assistant to my husband.

All the time I see families that seem to have it better….grass is greener on the.  other side…I don’t think so.  Because until you walk a mile in someone else’s shoes you have no idea what they are going through or how they got there.  I know now that I have made the right decision and for me to get the things I wish and desire for my family will take me just a little longer to get there.  Lighthouse

Leave a Reply

