I don’t know where to begin……

There is nothing worse than receiving a phone call at 8 a.m. on a Sunday morning to your mother hysterically crying.  My heart sunk as I was trying to figure out the mess that was going on.

First my temper started to flare, I felt my blood pressure rising.  I was about to go ballistic on someone and it was not going to be good.  Then all of a sudden I got this feeling.  It was telling me to let it go, it is not worth getting that upset.  And it was the right thing to do.  Because the more I think about it the accusations were preposterous and hilarious.  I know it hurt my mother to have these things said about her and I would honestly be the same way if it was me.

The saying I remember growing up was ” Sticks and stones can break my bones but names will never hurt me”, well that’s not true at all.   Names and words do hurt.  They cut to the bone and can break one’s heart, spirit and feelings.  Especially if they are degrading and mean-spirited in nature.

The reason I am addressing this is because I have seen and heard a lot of mean, hateful and spiteful words.  Most of  them coming out of the mouth of a loved one who is battling or has battled a dreadful disease. (i.e. cancer or heart issues)  It takes a lot of patience and courage to let these horrible things being said go in one ear and out the other and not react.

I know my biggest issue is patience.  I have very little when I get upset.  I am trying to set a good example for my children with not using degrading, harsh, or mean word to them or anyone l else.  I want to lead by example and letting those hurtful things go.  I tell them to let the other person know how it has hurt them.  Not to keep their feelings in; even to journal their feelings.

575253_3649173841016_501775380_n This is my momma and her granddaughter  Pauliney.

Leave a Reply

