The best we can do…..

The last 24 hours have been an emotional roller coaster for our family.  Until today, I can honestly say that the shock of way human beings treat others has set in.  We now have to come up with a plan to reinforce our family values to our children.

As a teenager/ very naive young adult, I can remember having my heart broke by my first love.  I remember it all very clear. My philosophy has been Exes are Exes for a reason.  Whether its learn to appreciate what was or  move on to something better.  But to sit back and watch a younger sibling go through being treated like a nothing is harder.

When a person tries with their whole heart to help unselfishly be considerate of that. They have feelings.  Those feelings are not for you to walk all over and take advantage of that person.  Their feelings are validated by giving their all and wearing their heart on their sleeve.

No matter what you say can not take away the pain caused by another human being.  We can only be there to help ease the pain.  To give some light at the end the pain tunnel.  Not all humans are so consumed by selfishness and their own demons.  Each human being deserves to be treated like a human being.

Each and everyday as parents, my husband and I make sure we let the children know that their feelings matter.  Just as they have feelings they need to remember others have feelings too.  I find it very important to explain these things in depth to my children.  Especially when dad is at work and can not be there.  As the song “My Wish” by Rascal Flatts goes,..My wish is that my children treat each other with mutual respect and feelings. Not all human beings are like the ones we have been subjected to.   That they learn to keep their heads up in the worst of times and to keep smiling because there will be a pot of gold at the end of the rainbow they are chasing.  The biggest thing is that “FAMILY IS FAMILY NO MATTER WHAT”

1013873_957403684286808_4612171699464031015_n

Leave a Reply

