Potato Salad…….

So I decided to have a great meal today and let me repeat something that might make my kids smile again with Grandma’s potato salad.   We are having steak cooked on the grill, potato salad, green peas  and a tossed green salad.

I am beyond myself right now.  I have made an attempt to duplicate my mother-in-law’s potato salad.   Let’s just say I really put my heart and soul into it.  I even went as far to call my father-in-law and ask what all was in it.  He gave me her little secret about the potatoes she used.  He said “It makes all the difference.” ( The only thing I forgot was the green olives…ugh….fail…..i hope they will still like it)

My mother-in-law when she made her potato salad put a lot of effort into making it look very pretty and delicious.  It would be very appealing to the eyes.  Each slice of hard boil egg and green olive would be meticulously placed on the top to make a very nice checkered type pattern.

See what I did not know about my mother-in-law is that she was self-taught. Every dish she made was learned from watching her mother cook or figuring it out on her own.  I have an even higher level of respect for her.  I watch “Pioneer Woman” cook and I duplicate her recipes and my family loves them.  My husband only wants the fresh, from scratch spaghetti sauce now.  My children love the chicken cacciatore and the chili and catalina stir fry.  My repertoire is building up…lol.  I really do enjoy being able to cook for my family.  We have more quality time when we sit at the table and just talk about what ever comes to mind.  Everything from their day at school to what the plans are for the weekend.

Well here’s to the weekend……

Leave a Reply

