Patience…….

I have known for quite some time that I need to have patience.  I can say that some days my patience is really thin.  The slightest thing would set my off.

11168517_10206967652662840_1448474795070775751_n

In 2010 my mother was diagnosed with stage 2 breast cancer.  I had to quit work to take care of our children as my mother was our child care provider while we both worked.  So our income was cut over half of what we were use to.  So I took up couponing.

I watched Extreme Couponing once and thought to myself “I wish I could do that for my family.”  I would use coupons on occasion….but now I use them constantly. It has become a lifestyle change.  A lot of my purchases now are based on whether or not I have a coupon for it and is it under a certain price. Here is an example… I use to go to Harvestime to purchase food at a discounted price because of it being damaged or close to expiring. Like I could buy boxes of name brand cereal for $1.50  now I can get them for free with my couponing skills.

I would post pictures of my great deals on facebook.  My friends would say I want to know how to do this….show me.  So I held a couponing class at my home on a saturday afternoon.  Someone came to my home and discussed how to get started.  Since then I coupon, coupon, coupon.  I have learned that having patience is the biggest part of the success to couponing.  Now my children ask me do you have coupons for what ever that want to get.  I have family members approach me about needing things from my overstock.

I try to keep the basic necessities on hand so when the holidays come around we can concentrate on the gifts and not have to worry about if we have toilet paper, soap, shampoo, toothpaste, tide.  I can say that I am still learning.  I have not been able to have a perfect day of shopping by having overages but I do have days where I pay $25 for $120 worth of groceries. ( This is name brand items not store brand.)  I will take that.

With couponing I have been able to save up gas cards.  These gas cards we use to go on vacations. And yes I do take my coupons with me everywhere…even on vacation.  You just never know when you can hit that awesome deal.  We drive to New York and Kentucky.  I really love being able to do things with my kids that my parents could not do for me or my brothers and sister.

12063450_10206967652502836_2324011206717328519_n This is the actual receipt for the above pictured items I bought on Friday.  I really can’t imagine where my family would be without coupons.  Being patient really does pay off in the long run.

Leave a Reply

