Happy Birthday Mom!!!!!!

My mom!

My mom!

I want to tell you about my mom!  Today is her 66th birthday.  She is the daughter of Lowell and Eva Jenks.  My mom was the only girl of the four children.

Uncle D, Uncle Charlie, Mom and Uncle Slim

Uncle D, Uncle Charlie, Mom and Uncle Slim

November 1966

November 1966

My parents were married November 1966. My dad was in the Army, so we traveled.  My mother says we lived in Germany but I was so young the only thing I can remember is how the German people would eat their popcorn,,,with sugar on it.  This was long before I heard of or even tasted kettle corn.  We lived in Maryland and the last place my dad was stationed was at Fort Lewis, Washington.  I can still remember how green it was there.  Yes it rained but the beauty from all the rain was well worth it.  We went to Mt Rainier and rode inner tubes down the snow.mt rainier

We were there when Mt. St. Helen’s erupted in 1981.  My mom still has til this day the newspapers, and actual ash.  i have a photo of the mushroom cloud from it erupting from our backyard.

from our backyard on the base

from our backyard on the base

My dad retired to Florida in 1984. My parents were married 29 1/2 years when my dad passed away in 1996. Since then she has had to raise my two youngest brothers, Andy and BJ on her own.  In which this was no small task.  Living off of a military pension is not an easy task; then again she has made do with what she can.  There are times when she cries because she can’t give the kids or grandkids what she feels they deserve and it breaks her heart.  But you have to understand there is no feasible way possible with the size of our family 

2013 Family Portrait

2013 Family Portrait

I make sure she knows not to worry about the big kids and only do what you can do.  Today we are celebrating her 66th birthday and also celebrating 5 years of being cancer free.  In 2010 she was diagnosed with stage 2 breast cancer.  She had a mastectomy and underwent chemotherapy and radiation.  It has been a very long hard road for her but she deserves to celebrate life.  There are things I wish I could give to her that she deserves but I can not afford to buy them but I hope she knows how much I love her and how much she means to the family!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY MOMMA!!!! WE LOVE YOU VERY MUCH!  I LOVE YOU MOM!!!!!

Leave a Reply

